13 comments on “Making an Expression Pedal for Line 6 Pod HD 500 and others

  1. Thanks for posting this! I’ve emptied my cry baby and ordered the parts. I’m looking forward to their arrival, and 20 minutes later. This is JUST what I was looking for. Thanks again!

  2. Can’t wait to try this. I had an EX-1 with my Pod XTLive, but it would actually slip off track, and you would have to disassemble it to put it back on track. I wanted a nice 2nd expression pedal for my HD 500, but didn’t want to shell out the money for it. Thanks for the tutorial!!!

  3. Good DIY piece, one thing though- you can easily purchase D-shaft pots from Mouser or Digi-Key (Alps are far less expensive than CTS and probably about the same quality- I believe they charge a premium for CTS because they’re marketed as a guitar upgrade, much like ridiculously overpriced “guitar” capacitors).

    • Yes you can purchase D-Shaft pots from DigiKey or Mouser for less. I disagree about the quality though and the source I indicate is the cost is around $6.95 USD + shipping compared to Bourns at $2.98 USD + shipping. The CTS pots that I get are not marketed as guitar replacement parts, they are mil. spec. replacement parts. And when we are looking at the difference of around $3.00….. Well I don’t want to have to take this thing apart in 6 months to rebuild it. I’d rather have it keep going for more than a year. I use mine pretty heavily and yet to have an issue….

  4. Hi, thanks so much for the post. I’ve followed your directions to a tee, but seem to have an issue. My M13 reacts as follows: for example, if I set a heel down position to zero delay repeats and a toe down position to infinite repeats, the pedal refuses to sweep through the entire range. Instead, it will sweep from zero to half, even though it clearly looks like it should go to infinite. It’s a similar issue regardless of the parameter. Any ideas? I’ve also tried doing this outside of the pedal, thinking that perhaps the M13 needed to see 0 to the full 10k, but the behaviors is the same.

  5. Did it! Works perfectly with my HD500X. I bought the CryBaby in 1980, it died 20 years ago and now its back in the line-up….and that is why you don’t throw things out… Thx!

  6. Cliff, Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you. It’s been very busy around here. You are right. Since publishing this article in December of 2012, it seems the market on CTS 10K potentiometers is drying up. The seller on ebay no longer has stock on this item. I’ve checked Amazon and there is a source there. I’ve checked digikey.com and you can get the pots there as well.

Leave a Reply

